LEC EVOLET - LOCATION, THEMATIC ALLOCATION AND FOCAL POINTS

Main location: Graz (Styria)
Other locations: none
Thematic area: Energy & Environment

  • Sustainable energy and transport systems (towards zero emissions)
  • E-fuels (hydrogen, ammonia, methanol, etc.) for climate-neutral large engine applications
  • Virtual development platform (digital twins for various applications)

Planned realization and outcomes

The objective of the LEC EvoLET research programme is to develop innovative solutions for sustainable energy and transport systems. The focus is on drastic emission reduction. Using renewable energy sources (hydrogen, methanol, ammonia, etc.) for climate-neutral large engine applications, optimizing the overall system and the intensive use of digital technologies form the core of research. Having a highly flexible infrastructure enables a wide range of experimental investigations from the basics to the entire energy or propulsion system. A key role in this is played by the permanent further development of detailed simulation models and methods (such as in the COMET-Modul LEC HybTec), their seamless integration into a consistent development methodology and their successful application. Based on innovative solutions in the field of sensor technology, measurement data transmission systems and condition-based monitoring, the LEC develops intelligent engine components in order to monitor the systems’ condition under the most extreme environments and thus increase their robustness, life span and environmental soundness. To further minimize pollutant and greenhouse gas emissions, advanced exhaust gas aftertreatment systems are developed and integrated into the overall system. The permanent further development of the LEC simulation methodology has led to the fact that today this method can be successfully applied for emission reduction and overall energy system optimization of entire production sites.

History of establishment

The modern large engine research at Graz University of Technology started in 1994, when the first single-cylinder research engine, a Jenbacher type 6 gas engine, was established. A focus of the research work from the very beginning was the development and use of simulation methods for optimization. In 2002, the LEC brand was introduced. From 2002 to 2010, an industrial competence centre (KIND) existed within the framework of LEC GmbH, which was transferred to TU Graz and FVT GmbH after the programme expired. Since 2015, LEC EvoLET has existed as a funded K1 centre within the framework of LEC GmbH. In 2020, the COMET module LEC HybTec was approved.

THANKS TO OUR SPONSORS

The Comet research program, a worldwide partner network and a unique infrastructure at the TU Graz campus provide the ideal framework to develop customized solutions for our partners and to foster innovation.

The LEC would like to thank its funding bodies for their financial support within the COMET-Program. This program is funded by the Austrian Federal Ministries for Climate Policy, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology (BMK) and for Federal Ministry of Labor and Economy (BMAW), represented by the Austrian Research Promotion Agency mbH (FFG), as well as by the federal states of Styria, Tyrol and Vienna.

lec-logo-leiste

LEC EvoLET - Standort, Thematische Zuordnung und Schwerpunkte

Standort: Graz (Steiermark)

Thematische Zuordnung: Energie & Umwelt

Thematische Schwerpunkte

  • Nachhaltige Energie- und Transportsysteme (Fokus towarts zero emissions)
  • Einsatz von E-Fuels (Wasserstoff, Amoniak, Methanol, ) für klimaneutrale Großmotranwendungen
  • Virtuelle Entwicklungsplattform (Digital Twins für unterschiedlichste Anwendungen)
  • Innovative Sensortechnologie und Systeme zur Messdaten-übertragung und Zustandsüberwachung

Geplante technologische Entwicklungen

Ziel des Forschungsprogramms LEC EvoLET ist es, innovative Lösungen für nachhaltige Energie- und Transportsysteme zu entwickeln. Dabei steht die drastische Emissionsreduktion im Fokus. Der Einsatz erneuerbarer Energieträger (Wasserstoff, Methanol, Ammoniak, etc) für klimaneutrale Großmotranwend ungen, die Optimierung des Gesamtsystems und der intensive Einsatz digitaler Technologien bilden den Mittelpunkt der Forschung. Die hochflexible Infrastruktur ermöglicht ein breites Spektrum an experimentellen Untersuchungen von den Grundlagen bis zum gesamten Energie- oder Antriebssystem. Dabei spielt die permanente Weiterentwicklung von detaillierten Simulationsmodellen und -methoden (wie z.B. im COMET-Modul LEC HybTec), deren nahtlose Integration in eine konsistente Entwicklungsmethodik und ihre erfolgre iche Anwendung eine entscheidende Rolle. Basierend auf innovativer Sensortechnologie, Messdatenübertragungssystemen und Condition-based Monitoring entwickelt das LEC intelligente Motorkomponenten, um den Zustand der Systeme unter extremsten Bedingungen zu überwachen und die Robustheit, Lebensdauer sowie Umweltverträglichkeit zu erhöhen. Zur weiteren Minimierung der Emissionen werden auch fortschrittliche Abgasnachbehandlungssysteme entwickelt und in das Gesamtsystem integriert. Die permanente Weiterentwicklung der LEC- Simulationsmethodik ermöglicht heute ihren Einsatz zur Emissionsreduktion und Energie-Optimierung von ganzen Produktionsstandorten.

Gründungsgeschichte

Die moderne Großmotorenforschung an der Technischen Universität Graz begann im Jahr 1994, als der erste Einzylinder-Forschungsmotor, ein GE Jenbacher Gasmotor der Baureihe 6, aufgebaut wurde. Ein Schwerpunkt der Forschungsarbeiten war von Beginn an die Entwicklung und der Einsatz von Simulationsmethoden zur Optimierung. 2002 wurde die Marke LEC eingeführt. Von 2002 bis 2010 bestand ein industrielles Kompetenzzentrum (KIND) im Rahmen der LEC GmbH, welche nach Auslaufen des Programms an TU Graz und FVT GmbH übertragen wurde. Seit 2015 besteht LEC EvoLET als gefördertes K1 -Zentrum im Rahmen der LEC GmbH. 2020 wurde das COMET-Modul LEC HybTec genehmigt.

DANK AN UNSERE FÖRDERGEBER

Das Comet-Forschungsprogramm, ein weltweites Partnernetzwerk und eine einzigartige Infrastruktur am Campus der TU Graz bieten die idealen Rahmenbedingungen, um für unsere Partner maßgeschneiderte Lösungen zu entwickeln und Innovation zu fördern.

Das LEC bedankt sich für die finanzielle Unterstützung im Rahmen des COMET-Programms bei seinen Fördergebern. Dieses Programm wird von den österreichischen Bundesministerien für Klimapolitik, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie (BMK) und für Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Wirtschaft (BMAW), vertreten durch die Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft mbH (FFG), sowie den Ländern Steiermark, Tirol und Wien gefördert.

lec-logo-leiste